Unwrapped is preparing the eighth installment of Unwrapped, which is set for a May 2019 release. Unwrapped Vol. 8: The Chicago Sessions features reimagined versions of Travis Scott’s double platinum single “Pick Up The Phone,” Cardi B’s Top 5 smash hit “Be Careful,” and JAY-Z’s stunning song “The Story Of O.J.,” among others.

Launched in 2001, Unwrapped made a triumphant bow with Hidden Beach Recordings Presents: Unwrapped, Vol. 1. The 13-cut collection wowed fans, artists, and critics alike with its groovy reworkings of such classic rap tracks as A Tribe Called Quest’s “Bonita Applebum,” Lil’ Kim’s “Crush On You,” and The Notorious B.I.G.’s “One More Chance/Stay With Me – (Remix).” With anticipated sales of 8,000 copies, Hidden Beach Recordings Presents: Unwrapped, Vol. 1 shattered expectations by moving more than 236,000 units.

In its subsequent incarnations, Unwrapped established itself as both the standard bearer and an inspiration for a generation of artists seeking to combine two of American music’s most powerful homegrown genres: jazz and rap. Vol. 2 showcases new versions of A Tribe Called Quest’s “Electric Relaxation” and DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince’s “Summertime,” while Vol. 4 features a lively rendition of 50 Cent’s “21 Questions.”

A vanguard series, Unwrapped continues blazing sonic and creative trails with Unwrapped Vol. 8: The Chicago Sessions.